Look Out for These Ingredients If You Want to Sell Vegan Confectionery

Blog

One of the fastest-growing lifestyle choices in recent years is veganism. As it becomes more popular, it makes sense for retailers to cater to this growing demographic to attract greater sales and increase business.

If you sell lollies, there's an opportunity to really stand out from your competitors. There aren't that many confectionery retailers who currently consider vegans in their displays, meaning there's a niche ready for filling. Just creating a section in your shop with vegan-friendly products could give your business a nice little boost, particularly as vegan word-of-mouth is an impressive force.

In order to do so, of course, you'll need to know what's suitable for vegans and what isn't, as it's not always obvious like milk, eggs or honey. Here are the confectionery ingredients to watch out for.

Gelatine

Often found in chewy jelly confectionery, gelatine is derived from animal collagen found in various body parts. Neither vegans nor vegetarians will eat gelatine. There are plant-derived alternatives available, but the low cost of animal gelatine means it's very common.

Carmine or cochineal

This deep red substance is used as a food colouring. It's obtained by boiling a specific insect, the cochineal, and it is quite often used in various types of lollies. Although synthetic colours are becoming more common, carmine is still quite widely used.

Lecithin

Lecithins have various applications in food production, but they're commonly used as emulsifiers in chocolate. Nowadays, soy lecithin is often found, which is suitable for vegans. However, if it doesn't specify that it's from soy, it might originate from milk, eggs or other animal sources.

Shellac

Also known as confectioner's glaze, shellac is used as a coating for many lollies and chocolate, giving it a shiny finish. It's a substance excreted by female lac bugs to protect their eggs, and vegans don't eat it because some of the bugs are killed when it's collected. There are vegan alternatives available, but they're nowhere near as common as shellac.

Beeswax

Vegans don't eat honey or other substances produced by bees, including beeswax. Although it's more often found in candles and polish, beeswax is sometimes used as a coating on chocolate and other types of confectionery.

Lactose and whey

Although you'll be on the lookout for milk if you're checking for non-vegan ingredients, it's easy to miss these two dairy derivatives. Lactose, a sugar, and whey, a byproduct of cheesemaking, are both found in confectionery from time to time, so make sure you look out for them too.

Share

18 August 2017

Fresh vegetarian curry on the go

I have a small lunch bar, and I'm always looking for different options to sell. Sometimes people want to try something different for lunch, especially vegetarians who tend to have really limited options. I can't make much on site, as we only have a tiny kitchenette to prepare food. I have just found a really great food supplier who is giving us some different curries, which she alternates each week. It makes it a lot easier for me when I can find food for specific needs like vegetarians through my food suppliers. If you want to know more about food suppliers then keep reading.